The best community is blue ๐Ÿ’™ - Shopware

The best community is blue ๐Ÿ’™ - Shopware

ยท

5 min read

I already wrote a post about how I fell in love with Shopware. For me, Shopware has still the best events, the most lovely people and the best community. This year will not be different!

Open Source

Shopware is open source and that's one of the reasons why it's so great. I already wrote a lot about Shopware and this will not stop. The three values that characterize Shopware are open, authentic and visionary.

open authentic visionary shopware .jpeg

Let's take a quick look at those values:

  • Open - open source philosophy

  • Authentic - owner-operated company

  • Visionary - take a look at the software and approaches

Contribution

You can contribute to Shopware. You found a bug and know how to fix it? Just open a pull request! Do you have an idea to improve the software? This could be a contribution as well!

My first open-source contribution was to the Shopware Repository. I had some help from some people in the community, so big thanks to them!

Not all of my pull requests were merged but some of them. It feels pretty good to know that you contributed to the software you use and like. Even if you just make very small changes. You can take a look at the small contributions I made on GitHub.

Hacktoberfest

Hacktoberfest is an annual event that takes place in October and is organized by DigitalOcean in partnership with GitHub. The goal of this event is to encourage and celebrate open-source contributions by developers around the world.

Participants who make four or more pull requests to public GitHub repositories during October can earn a limited edition T-shirt and other swag.

image.png

Of course, you can contribute to Shopware and finish Hacktoberfest and get some SWAG. It will be Hacktoberfest SWAG but there are a lot of ways to get some SWAG SWAG.

SWAG = Shopware AG. But in this post SWAG most of the time stands for merch or items.

Shopware Events

All the Shopware Events I was part of were totally on point. They are perfectly organized. You get food, drinks and some SWAG. Sometimes they also have a surprise for the attendees, like a trip to the Retro Nerds. At this point I have to give big props to all the people organizing those events, you make these events special ๐Ÿ’™

I try to attend a lot of Shopware Events this year as well. Just because they are awesome and so much fun!

Boost Days

This year already started with Boost Day #9. It was an online event at the virtual campus of Shopware with Gather.

The topic was StackOverflow. If I remember correctly over 40+ questions were answered on this day.

It's always fun to be part of those events, talk to people and also listen to some amazing talks. Of course, you also can get some SWAG at the online Events.
Now I'm waiting for the next Boost Days ๐Ÿš€

The best Boost Day #8

The best Boost Day experience was at Boost Day #8. This time it was a hybrid event. I was at the Shopware Headquarter in Schรถppingen. It's just a bit more special to talk to all the lovely people in person, play games and have fun together.

This was the Boost Day where we visited the Retro Nerds.

At some of the machines, you can play a good 1v1. It was a lot of fun and a bit competitive as well. This was my best Boost Day so far!

Do you want to take a look at what a Boost Day looks like? Just take a look at this blog post.

Still, my highlight of this event was the orange PHP elephant flying into my arms. Can you imagine a better community like this? I don't think so. We can make elephants fly ๐Ÿ˜.

I would love to see this format this year again. I definitely want to be part of it!

Shopware Community UnConference

The SCUC 2022 was my first Shopware Event. It was amazing and after that event, I was sure that I want to attend more Events!

I was welcomed with a personalized shirt and this shirt is still one of my favorites. The SCUC was a lot of fun and you have a lot of talks. The talks don't have to be about Shopware. It's also not a very big event. That makes it more special than the other events.

For the breaks there was a small gaming area:

Those events take care about everything. Unfortunately, I don't have more images from this event to share.

This year there will also be a SCUC and I'm sure it will be awesome! I try to make some more images this time. If you want to attend a Shopware Event this is the place to go.

Community Day

Every year there is a day dedicated to the community of course. Compared to the other events the community day is very big. A lot of people, a lot of talks, and a lot of information and there is still some space for some games to win some SWAG.

Have you already touched Shopware? Then I highly recommend you to attend one of those events. Have you never touched Shopware before? Then I recommend you to touch it!

Open Huus Day

You are still not convinced that this is the best Community? There was an open huus day where you could take a look at the Shopware Headquarter.

photo1661297126.jpeg

They just have a Meme Wall! Not enough?

The Labs Room

photo1660480414 (2).jpeg

There is also a big room for nerds who want to try out different hardware, software and tools. Imagine a room where you can use any hardware and tools you want. A room where you can make different things yourself.

Most of us could probably spend a few weeks just in this room.

Conclusion

Shopware has the best community ๐Ÿ’™. You only need to attend one event and you will think the same. They do a lot for the community and everything is well-organized and a lot of fun. It feels good to be part of a community like this.

Still not convinced? Just remember they have a Cody.

Image

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Joschi by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย